Home Latest News Oregon First Grader Wins National School Bus Safety Poster Contest
Oregon First Grader Wins National School Bus Safety Poster Contest PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ryan Gray   
Tuesday, 29 October 2013 08:40

National Association for Pupil Transportation members voted the submission by Jaeho Lee of Kindley Elementary School in Portland as the overall winner of the 2013 National School Bus Safety Poster Contest in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Voting was conducted last Wednesday on the trade show floor of the NAPT Summit at The DeVos Center. 

Lee, a first grader at the time of submitting the poster last spring, also won first place in Division I for kindergarten through second-grade students and the $500 grand prize. Lee's poster will be used to promote the 2014 National School Bus Safety Week, which is scheduled for Oct. 20-24. Finishing second in that division was Tarun Kumar, a first grader at the time from Franklin Elementary School in Sewickley, Pa. Third place went to Lindsey Larrimore of Cypress Creek Elementary School in Port Orange, Fla.

Fifth-grader Natalia Wyszkowski of Bradley Elementary School in Derby, Conn., won Division II for grades three through, beating out Savann Spadalik, a fifth graders from Woodward Parkway in North Massapeque, N.Y., and third-place finisher Jennifer Russell, a fourth grader from Cypress Creek Elementary in Port Orange, Fla.

Division III for grades six through eighth was won by Rachelle Marie Quinonz of Kapolei Middle School west of Honolulu. Abigail Eom, a sixth grader from Stoller Middle School in Portland, Ore., finished in second place followed by Hannah Svihel, a sixth graders from Epiphany School in Coon Rapids, Minn.

Division IV for student in special education classes was won by Samantha Weidner from David Doulas School in Portland, and seventh-grader Shameka Thomas a of Quitman (Miss.) Junior High finished second. Jeniya Williams, a fifth grader from Cypress Creek Elementary in Port Orange finished third.

Samantha Hawkins, an 11th grader at Sussex Technical High School in Georgetown, DE won Division V for Computer-Aided Drawing (CAD). Winning Division VI for the International division was fourth grader Cayce Sherer of Sollars Elementary School on Misawa Air Base, about a four and a half hour train ride north of Tokyo. 

Each division winner, besides the overall winner, receive a $250 check. Second-place winners receive $100 and third-place finishers receive $50. First place in the CAD Division is awarded $50 as is the first-place winner of the International competition.

Like this? Tweet it to your followers!
blog comments powered by Disqus

Last Updated on Tuesday, 29 October 2013 14:06