Anderson, Lawrence Elected to NAPT Board as Summit Concludes

Peter Lawrence of Fairport CSD in New York, following the announcement he is the new NAPT Region 1 Director. Peter Lawrence of Fairport CSD in New York, following the announcement he is the new NAPT Region 1 Director.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Theresa Anderson and Peter Lawrence, Ed.D, joined the NAPT Board after being elected by association members to represent their respective regions. Meanwhile, John Hazelette ran unopposed to retain his board seat.

Voting opened last month with final ballots cast during Tuesday’s NAPT Summit Trade Show.

Anderson, an industry consultant and former director of transportation for Jefferson County Public Schools in Colorado, succeeds Steve Kalmes as Region 5 director covering 13 states as well as Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan along with China, Japan and Singapore. Anderson ran against Dick Fisher, an industry consultant and retired director of transportation, and the man responsible for the establishment of the first School Bus Safety Week more than four decades ago.

“I know the importance of continuing education and the need for branding and marketing the great work we do and developing consistent transportation policy and strategies,” Anderson told STN in September. “NAPT has helped me become the leader I am, and now it's time to pay it forward.” 

Lawrence fills the Region 1 position previously held by Peter Mannella, the executive director of the New York Association for Pupil Transportation. Lawrence is the director of transportation for Fairport Central School District near Rochester, New York and a past STN Leadership Award winner. He ran against Richard Gallagher, the director of transportation for Bay Shore School District in New York.

Lawrence now represents 11 states in New England and the U.S. Northeast plus Washington, D.C, Quebec, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Lawrence, told STN before the election that he will work collaboratively with the NAPT Board to update the Professional Development Series curriculum, which remain valuable but need updating “to ensure they are supporting the needs of the next generation of transportation professionals.”

Hazelette, NAPT’s previous Public Policy Committee chair, will continue to represent 11 states in the Southeast as well as Ontario. Hazelette, Anderson and Lawrence will each serve two-year terms that expire at the end of the 2018 NAPT Summit.

pam mcd ellenFrom right: Ellen Morgan of Orange Unified School District in Southern California laughs as Pam McDonald, NAPT's Election Committee chair, shows the text message she just sent to Theresa Anderson informing her of the win.

Last modified onWednesday, 16 November 2016 16:25