Transporting Students with Disabilities and special needs

Virtual Conference and Trade Show

Due to the national health concerns surrounding the coronavirus outbreak and the continued closing of schools, the TSD Conference & Trade Show is going virtual!

Nov. 9 – 11, 2020

TSD Virtual Conference Attendee $199

About the TSD Conference

The Transporting Students with Disabilities & Special Needs Conference, held annually since 1992, offers workable solutions and practical answers to pressing questions about transporting students with special needs — from preschool to adult transition services. It is designed to not only increase safety for this special student population, but to also make local operations more efficient and effective.

This year’s virtual TSD Conference will feature dozens of education sessions and workshops, as well as product demonstrations, a virtual trade show and networking opportunities with peers as well as vendors.

Who should attend the TSD Conference & Trade Show?

Transportation professionals nationwide who want to learn the latest trends in special needs transportation training, products and services. They also learn about how to produce better, more quantifiable results from their transportation team and operations.

Attendees include: Transportation Directors and Supervisors, Purchasing Agents, School Bus Association Members, Superintendents, Fleet Managers, Mechanics and Technicians, Operations Managers, Driver Trainers, Safety Trainers, Special Needs Transportation Routers, Dispatchers, Administrators, Special Education Professionals, Private Fleet Operators, Head Start/Childcare Professionals, Executives and CEOs, and School Bus Dealers.

“Non-refundable registration service fee: All registrations will include a $4.50 non-refundable registration service fee.”

Sponsors/Exhibitors do NOT register using this page. This method is for non-exhibiting attendees. Instructions to register staff members will be sent separately.”

Conference Speakers

Temple Grandin

Autism Spectrum Advocate, Author & Animal Husbandry Expert

In addition to being an expert in designing livestock handing facilities as a professor of animal science at Colorado State University, Temple Grandin is an example of a great mind that happens to also be challenged by autism. Her life was chronicled in a 2010 HBO movie starring Clare Danes that demonstrated her perseverance and determination, despite her condition being unknown at the time. Temple turned her unique talent into a behavioral tool that revolutionized the cattle industry and laid the groundwork for her successful career as an author, lecturer and pioneering advocate for autism and autism spectrum disorder education. She will share with TSD Virtual attendee her perspectives on and experience with autism, and she’ll advise student transporters on the importance of focusing on the child rather than the disability she or he may have. A live question-and-answer session follows her keynote address.

Marilyn Bull, M.D., FAAP

Expert in Developmental – Behavioral Pediatrics & Neurodevelopmental Disabilities

Riley Hospital for Children at Indiana University Health

Dr. Marilyn Bull is the Morris Green Professor of Pediatrics at Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, in the division of developmental pediatrics. She is currently on faculty as a neurodevelopmental physician in the division of developmental pediatrics at Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health in Indianapolis. Her administrative appointments include director of the Down Syndrome Program and director of the Feeding Team at Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health, and she serves as co-medical director of the Automotive Safety Program at Indiana University School of Medicine, where her research interests include “safe transportation of children with special health care needs.” Dr. Bull is an active member of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and represents the organization on the National Child Passenger Safety Board. She will discuss the latest interim guidance issued by AAP on cleaning child safety restraint systems as well as a position that encourages the safe return of students to school. A live question-and-answer session follows her keynote address.

Agenda-at-a-Glance

As of 10/16/20. Subject to change.

8 a.m. PT/Noon ET
Welcome & Orientation Session

8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 ET
Q’STRAINT/SURE-LOK Presentation

9 a.m. PT/Noon ET
Temple Grandin Keynote Presentation

9:35 a.m. PT/12:35 p.m. ET
D1: Q&A with Temple Grandin
D2: PBIS on the School Bus
D3: Fundamentals of Special Needs Transportation (Part 1)

10:35 a.m. PT/1:35 p.m. ET
MS: Video Demonstration of Proper 5-Point Harness Securement
D1: Learning Lessons from COVID-19
D2: What’s Working? What’s Not? Back-to-School Transportation Plans for Students with IEP & ITPs

11:20 a.m. PT/2:20 p.m. ET
D1: Re-Engaging Students & Parents in a COVID-19 World
D2: Hot Topic: Child Safety Restraint Systems
D3: Addressing Sexual Assault on the School Bus

Noon PT/3 p.m. ET
Virtual Trade Show

1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET
Replay of Temple Grandin Keynote
Sponsored Product Showcases

2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET
Live School Transportation Nation Podcast

2:30 p.m. PT/5:30 p.m. ET
Happy Hour with Conference Speakers

8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 ET
REI Presentation

9 a.m. PT/Noon ET
Dr. Marilyn Bull Keynote Presentation

9:40 a.m. PT/12:40 p.m. ET
MS: Roundtable on American Academy Pediatrics Guidance for Special Education Transportation
D1: Out-of-the-Box Training & Testing of Staff in a Virtual Environment
D2: Hot Topic:  Fire Suppression Systems for Special Needs Routes

10:25 a.m. PT/1:25 p.m. ET
D1: Mainstreaming Students with Disabilities on General Education Routes
D2: Fundamentals of Special Needs Transportation (Part 2)
D3: Developing Partnerships with Private Transportation Contractors

11:20 a.m. PT/2:20 p.m. ET
D1: Five Assumptions to Avoid When Transporting Students with Disabilities
D2: COVID-19 Implications on Personnel Decisions

12:15 p.m. PT/3:15 p.m. ET
Virtual Trade Show

1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET
Replay of Dr. Marilyn Bull Keynote Presentation
Sponsored Product Showcases 

2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET
Live School Transportation Nation Podcast 

2:30 p.m. PT /5:30 p.m. ET
Happy Hour with Conference Speakers

9 a.m. PT/Noon ET
Moving Forward With a Team-Approach to Providing Service to Students

10:10 a.m. PT/1:10 p.m. ET
D1: How to Get Information Transportation is Entitled To
D2: What Is In Your Bus Evacuation Plan?
D3: Fundamentals of Special Needs Transportation – Part 3 (1 hour)
D4: Hot Topic: Alternative Transportation

11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET

MS: Updates on 2018 American Academy of Pediatrics Guidance on “Transporting Students with Special Health Needs”
D1: Crisis Planning for Special Needs Transportation
D2: Empathy Training for School Bus Drivers & Monitors
D3: Roadeo Corner

Noon PT/3 p.m. ET
Virtual Trade Show

1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET
Sponsored Product Showcases

2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET
Live School Transportation Nation Podcast

2:30 p.m. PT /5:30 p.m. ET
Closing Happy Hour with Conference Speakers

MS = Main Stage • D1 = Discussion Room 1 • D2 = Discussion Room 2 • D3 = Discussion Room 3 • D4 = Discussion Room 4

Have a Question

Questions and Comments

Please fill out the form below and someone will get back to you as soon as possible. Or you can give us a call using the contact information on the right for an immediate response.

Conference Management

Alice Hung Sabedra
Event Manager
alice@stnmedia.com
310.802.7811

Questions regarding registration,
payments, and invoicing:

Amy Yamakawa
Event Coordinator
amy@stnmedia.com
310.802.7807

Samantha Gyerman
Event Coordinator
samantha@stnmedia.com
310.802.7812

Conference Programing

Roseann Schwaderer
TSD Conference Chair and Conference Founder
roseannsch7@gmail.com

Ryan Gray
Editorial Director
ryan@stnonline.com
310.802.7806

Sponsorship and Exhibitor Opportunities

Tony Corpin
President, STN Media Group
tony@stnmedia.com
310.802.7803

Tenured Faculty

Alexandra Robinson

Alexandra Robinson

Special Needs Transportation Consultant

Susan Englert Shutrump

Susan Englert Shutrump

Supervisor of OT/PT

Trumbull County (Ohio) Educational Service Center

Tenured Faculty Emeritus

Linda F. Bluth, Ed.D.

Linda F. Bluth, Ed.D.

Division of Special Ed/Early Intervention Services

Maryland Department of Education (Ret.)

Peggy A. Burns, Esq.

Peggy A. Burns, Esq.

Legal Consultant

Education Compliance Group

Pauline M. Gervais

Pauline M. Gervais

Executive Director of Transportation

Denver Public Schools (Ret.)

Kathy Strotmeyer

Kathy Strotmeyer

Certified Passenger Safety Technician

American Academy of Pediatrics (Pennsylvania Chapter)

Cheryl Wolf

Cheryl Wolf

Consultant

Transportation Supervisor, Lafayette (Indiana) School Corp. (Ret.)

Jean M. Zimmerman

Jean M. Zimmerman

Physical Therapy Supervisor (Ret.)

Palm Beach County (Florida) Schools

National Board of Advisors

John Benish

John Benish

NSTA President & Chief Operating Officer

Cook-Illinois Corp.

Kathleen Furneaux

Kathleen Furneaux

Executive Director

Pupil Transportation Safety Institute

Mark Hinson

Mark Hinson

Human Resources Consultant

Education Compliance Group

Charlie Hood

Charlie Hood

Executive Director, NASDPTS

School Transportation Director, Florida Department of Education (Ret.)

Charley Kennington

Charley Kennington

Director, Innovative Transportation Solutions (ret.)

Region 4 ESC in Houston

Miriam Manary

Miriam Manary

Senior Engineering Research Associate

University of Michigan

Pete Meslin

Pete Meslin

Director of Transportation

Newport-Mesa (California) Unified School District (ret.)

Special Thanks to Our Sponsors

Diamond Sponsor

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Presented By

Interested in a Sponsorship?

Contact Tony Corpin for customized sponsorship solutions.
tony@stnmedia.com  or call 310-381-9799