HomeNewsLoshbough Inducted Into NAPT Hall of Fame

Loshbough Inducted Into NAPT Hall of Fame

Bill Loshbough became the latest inductee into the NAPT Hall of Fame during a closing general session at the NAPT Summit in Kansas City on Tuesday.

Loshbough is a former state director of student transportation for New Mexico, a two-time steering committee chair for the now-called National Congress on School Transportation (NCST) and the National Safety Council representative on the 16th NCST Steering Committee.

This past summer, Loshbough received NSTA’s Meritorious Service Award for his “unparalleled vision, support and leadership toward improving pupil transportation safety.”

Loshbough is director of meetings and conventions for NAPT and works for HSM Transportation Solutions in regional sales. He joined the company last year when it acquired his previous employer, the C.E. White Company. He also owns ExecuWest Consultants in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Ed Donn, also an NAPT Hall of Fame member and a former state director for Georgia, introduced Loshbough at the downtown historic Marriott Muehlebach Hotel. In addition, Donn is the co-founder of the NAPT Foundation along with the late Don Carnahan, who was memorialized over the weekend during NAPT’s opening ceremony. Carnahan, NAPT’s president through this week’s Summit, died of a massive heart attack last month.

The memorial event on Saturday also remembered Brandon Billingsley, president of Heavy Duty Bus Parts and UltraLED, who also suddenly passed away last month.

Other awards given during the past week were:

  • NAPT Heroism Award: Tre’ Watts, the high school student who called 9-1-1 in January 2013 when Jimmy Lee Dykes trespassed on a Midland County, Alabama school bus and shot and killed driver Charles Poland before kidnapping a young boy and holding him hostage for several days.
  • NAPT Distinguished Service: Frank DiGiacomo, School Bus Fleet/Bobit Business Media
  • America’s Best School Bus Inspector
  • KC Allen, II of Lee County Public Schools in Alabama – First place
  • Wayne Southard, Chesterfield County School District in South Carolina – Second place
  • Aaron Wilmoth, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8 in Colorado – Third place
  • America’s Best School Bus Technician:
  • Brian Stovall of Whitestone County Public Schools in Alabama – First Place
  • Donald Ertel, Virginia Beach Public Schools – Second place
  • Jeff Putnam, Independence School District in Missouri – Third place
  • America’s Best School Bus Special Needs Transportation: Erik Osborn, Indiana
  • Blue Bird Heroism Award: Casimir (Chuck) K. Dziegle of Galway (N.Y.) Central Schools north of Albany, who pulled an injured motorist from a burning vehicle after the man was involved in a crash
  • IC Bus Training Award: America’s Best School Bus Inspector & Technician Skills & Training Competition, accepted by Marshall Casey
  • Thomas Built Buses Continuing Education Awards
  • Ronna Gerst, Douglas County Schools in Colorado
  • Keith Kaup, Houston ISD
  • Michael Benedict, Provo City School District in Utah, for video PSA on school bus safety and training


May 2024

This month's issue features articles on how technology can further student safety and optimize transportation operations. Learn more about...

Buyer’s Guide 2024

Find the latest vehicle production data and budget reports, industry trends, and contact information for state, national and federal...


Is your district on a 4-day school week?
135 votes