HomeIndustry ReleasesNY School Bus Contractors Association Awards Top School Bus Drivers in Safety...

NY School Bus Contractors Association Awards Top School Bus Drivers in Safety Competition

LATHAM, N.Y. — The New York School Bus Contractors Association (NYSBCA) announced today the top finishers in the 48th Annual New York State School Bus Safety Competition, which was held Saturday, May 18, at Rockland Lake State Park in Valley Cottage, N.Y.

The competition, which is the “largest and only statewide competition of its kind in New York, was a huge success,” said New York School Bus Contractors Association President Corey Muirhead.

Muirhead added that “Every driver who took part in the competition not only demonstrated tremendous knowledge about student safety, they displayed exceptional driving skills that set the standard for all school bus drivers to follow. These drivers are the very reason why a school bus is the safest vehicle on the road. Students are about 70 times more likely to get to school safely when taking a bus instead of traveling by car. Our congratulations go out to all the competitors.”

Nearly 80 drivers participated in the competition. Each person competed in a specific school bus division, from large (type C and D) buses to smaller (type A) vans.

The day began with a comprehensive written exam on school bus safety and lasted throughout the afternoon. Drivers were tested for their skills with hands-on activities that included: vehicle inspections, loading and unloading students, operating a school bus through various driving courses, managing railroad crossings and more.

The 2019 winners in each category are:

  • Conventional Bus (Type C):
    First Place – Cynthia Peters, Huntington Coach Corp.
    Second Place – Karen Lucadamo, Suffolk Transportation Service
    Third Place – Woody Rexford, Rolling V Bus Corp.
    Fourth Place – Joyce Olenick, We Transport/ Towne Bus
    Fifth Place – Adene DuBois, We Transport
  • Small Bus (Type A):
    First Place – Marlon Forrester, Towne Bus
    Second Place – Yvenson Maignan, Chestnut Ridge Transportation – Spring Valley
    Third Place – Shannon Darragh, We Transport/ Towne Bus
    Fourth Place – Charmaine Noronha, Suffolk Transportation Service
    Fifth Place – James J. Baumer, We Transport
  • Transit Bus, (Type D):
    First Place – Jose Torres, We Transport/ Towne Bus
    Second Place – Dan Farley, Quality Bus / Durham School Services
    Third Place – Ralph Stephens, Rolling V Bus Corp.
    Fourth Place – Jenny Reinoso, Suffolk Transportation Service
    Fifth Place – Joseph Cherubin, Chestnut Ridge Transportation – Pomona
  • 2019 Rookie of the Year:
    Marlon Forrester – Towne Bus

The winners of the competition, hosted by the NYSBCA, are now eligible to compete in the National School Transportation Association’s (NSTA) International School Bus Driver Safety Competition in Austin, Texas on July 20-21.

Conventional Bus 1st Place Winner, Cynthia Peters of Huntington Coach Corp.
Small Bus First Place Winner, Marlon Forrester of Towne Bus.

About the New York School Bus Contractors Association

NYSBCA represents over 100 school transportation companies (contractors). The industry transports more than half of all the children who ride a school bus to and from school each clay. The association promotes safe, reliable and cost-effective student transportation services for New York’s schoolchildren. www.nysbca.com

February 2024

Learn more about Danger Zone safety and how to utilize the technology & training available to further student safety,...

Buyer’s Guide 2024

Find the latest vehicle production data and budget reports, industry trends, and contact information for state, national and federal...


What would most increase student safety in the Danger Zone?
119 votes