Sunday, May 31, 2020
Home Industry Releases Student Transportation of America Celebrates National School Bus Safety Week

Student Transportation of America Celebrates National School Bus Safety Week

WALL, N.J — Student Transportation of America (STA), a leader in school transportation, safety and fleet services, is celebrating the National Association for Pupil Transportation’s (NAPT) National School Bus Safety Week, beginning today and running through October 25.

NAPT’s annual campaign is an active and evolving public education program. It’s an excellent way for parents, students, teachers, motorists, school bus operators, school administrators, and other interested parties, to join forces and address the importance of school bus safety.

This year’s theme is ‘My School Bus, The Safest Form of Student Transportation!’ and STA and NAPT partnered to produce a public service announcement safety video that can be viewed here.

“Naturally, safety is our top priority year-round. But National School Bus Safety Week affords us the opportunity to further engage with our customers and communities, focusing on students’ safety on and around the school bus,” stated Shelly Hall, STA’s VP of safety. “It’s great that we can partner with the NAPT to educate our customers and communities about the safest ride to and from school—the school bus.”

STA also announced the seventh group of inductees into its prestigious Safety Wall of Fame. The wall recognizes employees who are truly outstanding individuals, both at work and in their communities.

“This is a great week to announce the Class of 2019 who will be inducted into our Safety Wall of Fame,” added Hall. “This is an exceptional group who often are the first to work and the last to leave. The ones who mentor others on their team, and those who are actively engaged in their communities. These folks take pride in their jobs, follow safety best practices and shine as leaders.”

Employees were nominated by location managers from across the United States and Canada. They are held to the highest criteria of safety within their role, along with their extraordinary character. The 15 new inductees will be recognized during a special ceremony next spring with members of the STA Executive and Senior Leadership Teams.

This year’s inductees into the Safety Wall of Fame are:

  • Bunny Malmin: Meridian, Idaho
  • Lorna Elliott: Parsonsfield, Maine
  • Charles Blair: White River Junction, Vt.
  • Stephen Nolan: Annapolis, Md.
  • Donna Romero: Santa Maria, Calif.
  • Tammy Taylor: Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Edward Przybyszewski: Williamstown, Pa.
  • Teresa Kyte: London, Ont. Canada
  • J. Edward Taylor: Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Thomas Howard: Wyalusing, Pa.
  • James Joiner: Bastrop, Texas
  • Tommie Briggs: Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Latasha Hubbard: Terrell, Texas
  • Vikki Czechowicz: Genesee Valley, N.Y.
  • Lori Borger: Bangor, Pa.

To learn more about Student Transportation of America and its family of companies, please visit

May 2020

This month’s issue features articles about the coronavirus pandemic, the installation of lap/shoulder seatbelts, and mock casualty exercises, among...

Buyer’s Guide 2020

Find the latest vehicle production data, state student ridership and budget reports, industry trends and contact information for state,...


Are Wi-Fi routers installed in your district’s or company’s school buses?
517 votes