HomePeople2023 Rising Superstars Announced: Flying Under the Radar No More

2023 Rising Superstars Announced: Flying Under the Radar No More

For the past eight years, School Transportation News has requested nominations of student transporters who are displaying leadership or innovation in their local school bus operation, but who may have not received the public or industry-wide recognition that they deserve.

This year, the magazine received over 50 nominations, which are listed below. Out of these, 10 individuals were selected by the editors for profiles in our October magazine Rising SuperStars feature.

Jamie Allen
Transportation Director
Herman-Norcross School District, Minnesota

Tracey Alsup
CDL Trainer/Bus Driver
CUSD 303 St. Charles, Illinois

Nathan Berg
Transportation Supervisor
Willow River Area School, Minnesota

Chandler Brown
Regional Director Safety – Southeast
(New Jersey, North Carolina, Florida, Alabama)
Student Transportation of America

Cynthia Burgess
Lincoln County R-IV Winfield School District, Missouri

Deborah Carmouche
Trainer Specialist
Sheldon ISD, Texas

Christina Celeste-Russo
Director of Transportation
Orange Unified School District, California

John Chapman
Transportation Lead/Mechanic
Needles Unified School District, California

Latoya Crawford
Bus Driver
Dallas ISD, Texas

Paul D’Andrade
Assistant Director, Transportation Services
Fairfax County Public Schools, Virginia

Carol Daily
USD 437, Kansas

Richard Davis
Director of Transportation
Tyler County Schools, West Virginia

Ryan Eberly
Transportation Supervisor
Bryan City Schools, Ohio

Tim Farquer
Williamsfield Schools, Illinois

Jennifer Finner
Antelope Valley School Transportation Agency, California

Raymond Forsburg
Transportation Area director
Dallas ISD, Texas

Veronica Frieders
Trainer/Bus Driver
Winfield R-IV School District, Missouri

Brittany Gibson
Road Supervisor
Cincinnati Public Schools, Ohio

Tyler Hampton
College Station ISD, Texas

Kristi Hartzel
Driver Trainer/Lead Dispatch
Campbell County Schools, Kentucky

Shirley Hastie
Branch Manager
Elliott Coach Lines, Ontario

Ruedi Hauser
Transportation Safety Coordinator
Westerly Public Schools, Rhode Island

Jacqueline Hayes
Deputy Director of Transportation
Boston Public Schools, Massachusetts

Robert Hill
Transportation Supervisor
North Warren Central, New York

Ralph Hoyos
Transportation Supervisor
Auburn-Washburn USD 437, Kansas

Christina Hughes
General Manager
Lanpher’s Transport, New York

Mark Jordan
Vice President of Operations
(Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Idaho, Wisconsin, and Illinois)
Student Transportation of America

Seth Kountz
Bus Driver
Calaveras Unified School District, California

Cherita Lively
First Student, Texas

Felix Lombardo
Safety Trainer
Midland Independent School District, Texas

Lorie Manning
Special Needs Bus Driver
Rush County Schools, Indiana

Griselda Martínez
School Bus Driver
Jurupa Unified School District, California

Stanley McDonald
School Bus Driver & Trainer
Ashland Independent School District, Kentucky

Dawn Mills
Transportation Coordinator
Falls Church City Public Schools, Virginia

Shakita Mills
PM Dispatcher
Dallas ISD, Texas

Debbie Minniti
Bus Driver/Transportation Coordinator
Liberty Local School District, Ohio

Irma O’Connell
Bus Monitor
Widefield School District 3, Colorado

Corissa Oliver
Assistant Director
Magnolia ISD, Texas

Dane Pallotto
Director of Finance
B and B Transportation, Connecticut

Ken Parry
Bus Driver
South Sanpete School District, Utah

Alisan Powell
Transportation Trainer
Exeter Township School District, Pennsylvania

Patrick Reinard
Transportation Manager
School Bus Inc., South Dakota

Barbara Rendon
New Caney ISD, Texas

Corrina Sandholm
Transportation Manager
School Bus Inc., South Dakota

Linda Schmidt
Transportation Supervisor/Bus Driver
Archbold Schools, Ohio

Mitzii Smith
Assistant Transportation Director
MSAD #6 Bonny Eagle, Maine

Alex Spann
Assistant Director of Student Transportation
Tennessee Department of Education, Tennessee

Corina Speer
Transportation Trainer
Southside ISD, Texas

Colby Stevens
Director of Transportation
Teton County School District #1, Wyoming

Shurod Swift
Director of Transportation
Clarke County School District, Georgia

Rebecca Sykes
Transportation Consultant
Colorado Department of Education School Transportation Unit, Colorado

Trystan Thomas
Transportation Director
Shasta Union High School, California

Deb Trafton
Director of Transportation
New Hanover County Schools, North Carolina

Treva Turner
Bus Driver
Champaign Unit 4, Illinois

Brianne Whitesell
Area Manager
Pasco County Schools, Odessa, Florida

Jennifer Williams
Bus Driver
Houston County Board of Education, Georgia

Danny Williams
Executive Director of Transportation
Wilson County Schools, North Carolina

May 2024

This month's issue features articles on how technology can further student safety and optimize transportation operations. Learn more about...

Buyer’s Guide 2024

Find the latest vehicle production data and budget reports, industry trends, and contact information for state, national and federal...


Is your district on a 4-day school week?
137 votes