HomeSafetyNAPT Annual Poster Contest Winners Announced

NAPT Annual Poster Contest Winners Announced

Avrie Siedschlag, a student at Coon Rapids Middle School in Minnesota, is the winner of the 2022-2023 National School Bus Safety Poster Contest

The theme was “Safely Rolling to my Destination,” and contest co-sponsor the National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT) stated via an email to members that Siedschlag’s artwork, “best depicts this year’s theme by using creativity to communicate an important message meant to inspire and inform the education community. Siedschlag showcases the importance of following safety protocols throughout the ride to the ultimate destination for all children, the school building.”

The poster contest is judged on safety impact, originality, artistic quality and visual impact. Siedschlag reportedly received the most votes, winning first place as well as being named overall winner among entries from 22 states in five divisions. Siedshclag’s poster and those of other winners will be showcased during the annual National School Bus Safety Week, from Oct. 16 – 20 as well as at the NAPT Annual Conference in Columbus, Ohio.

Winners were also announced for each division. First-, second- and third-place finishers are as follows for the five divisions:

Division #1 (Grades K-2)
1st Place: Kinsley Hornbeck, Washington District Elementary (West Virginia)
2nd Place: Monserrat Morales Encarnacion, Beach Heights E.S. (Maryland)
3rd Place: Mar De La Cruz, Garden Park Elementary (Texas)

Division #2 (Grades 3-5)
1st Place: Ruhaani Kaur, Half Follow Hills Central School District (New York)
2nd Place: Anthony Russo, North Babylon (New York)
3rd Place: Ma’Riyah Dudley, Edgewood Independent School District (Texas)

Related: NAPT Asks Feds for Clarification on Benefits of School Bus Lap/Shoulder Seatbelts
Related: NAPT Conference, Trade Show Open for Registration
Related: Update: New NAPT Executive Director Addresses Members Amid Board Voting
Related: National Congress on School Transportation Writing Committees Prepare for 2025 Meeting
Related: Virginia State Director Resigns NASDPTS Board Following Acceptance of New Position

Division #3 (Grades 6-8)
1st Place (and overall winner): Avrie Siedschlag, Coons Rapid Middle School (Minnesota)
2nd Place: Lauren Wood, Lake Shore Central Schools (New York)
3rd Place: Daisy Cribb, Williams Township School (North Carolina)

Division #4 – Special Education (Grades K- 12)
1st Place: Javari Jackson, Everman Independent School District (Texas)
2nd Place: Jerrold Pitzer, Havana High School (Illinois)
3rd Place: Dacey Jackson, Bay Springs Middle (Georgia)

Division #5 – CAD (Computer Aided Drawing)
1st Place: Gavin Blankenship, Sussex Technical High School (Delaware)

Joining NAPT as sponsors of the poster contest are the National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services, the National School Transportation Association, and school bus manufacturers Blue Bird, IC Bus, and Thomas Built Buses.

The 2023-2024 poster theme is “Diving Safely into the Future,” and winning state contest posters must submitted to American School Bus Council state administrators by April 22, 2024.

July 2024

Learn more about the STN 2024 Innovator of the Year, Dr. Pallav Prakash, director of electrification program management for...

Buyer’s Guide 2024

Find the latest vehicle production data and budget reports, industry trends, and contact information for state, national and federal...


Have you attended a professional development conference or training this summer?
89 votes