Friday, March 31, 2023
HomeNewsInternational School Bus Driver Roadeo Winners Announced

International School Bus Driver Roadeo Winners Announced

Three school bus drivers were crowned over the weekend as division winners of the International Safety Competition held in Indianapolis.

The event was held in conjunction with the National School Transportation Association’s 53rd Annual Meeting and Convention and included a written exam on Saturday and behind-the-wheel skills on Sunday.

David Mansfield of Ottertail Coaches in Fergus, Minnesota won the small bus division while Billy Wiseman of Kanawha County Schools in Charleston, West Virginia finished in first place in the conventional bus division and Hannah Beard of First Student’s St. Charles, Missouri operation won the transit bus division.

The winners were honored Sunday night during NSTA’s Dinner and Awards Ceremony sponsored by IC Bus.

“The National School Transportation Association is delighted to host this event every year,” said NSTA President Todd Monteferrario. “It truly showcases the best of the best in school transportation as each of the competitors are tested on their knowledge, maneuvering and skill. School bus transportation is the safest mode of transportation available and these elite drivers show why at every turn. We congratulate all of the competitors in this international competition as well as the winners in each vehicle category.”

Below are the final announced results for all three divisions:

Small Bus

  • First Place: David Mansfield—Ottertail Coaches, Fergus, Minnesota
  • Second Place: Karina Larson—Forest Lake Area Schools, Forest Lake, Minnesota
  • Third Place: Mary Slate—Kanawha County Schools, Charleston, West Virginia

Conventional Bus

  • First Place: Billy Wiseman—Kanawha County Schools, Charleston, West Virginia
  • Second Place: Larry Hannon, Sr.—Centennial School District, Warminster, Pennsylvania
  • Third Place: Michael Castaneda—Northeast Independent School District, San Antonio Texas
  • Honorable Mention: Mark A. VanderZouwen—Grandville Public Schools, Grandville, Michigan

Transit Bus

  • First Place: Hannah Beard—First Student, St. Charles, Missouri
  • Second Place: Laurel Bird—Preston School District #2, Preston, Idaho
  • Third Place: Ted Dubbs—Lower Merion School District, Ardmore, Pennsylvania
  • Honorable Mention: Gene Thrasher—Bend-Capine School District, Bend, Oregon

March 2023

In this month's issue, our cover story dives into the details of using student rider data to accurately track...

Buyer’s Guide 2023

Find the latest vehicle production data and budget reports, industry trends, and contact information for state, national and federal...


Do you keep data in the “cloud?”
58 votes